22
Nov
10

Tripping onto a Master Tailor

Jean helps a customer try on a coat

 

An anniversary, 2 birthdays, and cheap airfare drove us to go to Paris: Excuses, excuses, I know. We decided to go there to just “be” and not to “do” tourist stuff.

Scraps swept into a pile

We walked really fast, wore lots of black, popped in for pastry and espresso, and generally tried to act natural. We were good posers until I opened by mouth and my accent gave me away. On our mission to nowhere in particular, we turned down a random street and discovered this amazing shop of hand crafted lambskin called Walry.

The owner, Jean Guise, sized me up and gallantly helped me try on several of his masterpieces. I did not protest. He spoke little English and with a combo of my bad French and charades, I was able to figure out that he buys the skins, designs the patterns, cuts, sews, and sells. “Ezz juss me”, he said.

Patterns and sewing machine- tools of his trade

Check out these photos. The guy is a genius on fit, style and stitching. He told me he would check out Project Artisan on his old home computer, but has no web site of his own. Maybe PA can help him design one and set up a store with us. I’d be happy to go back and help!

Oh, and he makes buttery soft pencil skirts in black and brown for 80 euro (once you deduct the value added tax) Such an amazing value.

Nina Thomas is a regular blog contributor.  This is one of two posts about her recent trip to Paris.

2 Responses to “Tripping onto a Master Tailor”


  1. 1 Bridget
    February 22, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    Fun little tidbit I thought I’d share about M. Guise:
    “The brand JEAN GUISE …a name with history. Cengiz Tanatar studied mechanical engineering.
    His French professors had difficulties with pronouncing his first name. Thus, Cengiz became Jean Guise, a quality name with international reputation.” (from http://www.jeanguise.de/)

  2. 2 Nina Thomas
    March 1, 2011 at 5:30 am

    Thank you for that bit of trivia.
    His manteaux are certainly “engineered” with a precision in fit and fine craftsmanship!


Leave a Reply

Project Artisan Blog Contributors

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

More From Project Artisan

Blog Posts


